Mawnan Smith Anvil Trust - the restoration of the village smithy
In 1851 there were four working smithies serving nineteen farms in the parish, but fifty years later only one remained. For over a hundred years the smithy, operated by blacksmith Billy James and followed by his son Dryden, was the centre of village life until, on Dryden's death in 1994, the smithy doors were closed and the building and its contents went into hibernation. This is how it stood in 2006. The owner of the smithy and the Parish created a project which brought about the restoration of the premises to its former glory and made the anvil ring once more, hence the formation of the Mawnan Anvil Trust -
The Mawnan Anvil Trust is a Registered Charity 1099398. The target for site acquisition and construction works was £400,000.00. The Trustees continue to explore the opportunities for fund raising. Financial contributions to the project overheads are warmly invited from any personal source or Charitable Organisation. Please email us at firstname.lastname@example.org with any useful information on the history that you might have, enquiry on the project, or perhaps with an offer of a donation!
The Trustees of the Mawnan Anvil Trust